LOUISVILLE, Ky., December 22, 2020 - The Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky has named six new members to its Community Advisory Council; members serve three-year renewable terms as advisers to the Foundation Board of Directors and liaisons from their respective communities. The newly appointed members are:

Carol Darwin, MSN, APRN, of Louisville, is a dual board-certified nurse practitioner in both adult-gerontology acute care and adult-gerontology primary care. She currently works in emergency medicine in a high-volume ER in Louisville with varied prior experience including MICU, outpatient care, and rural emergency medicine. In addition to her clinical nursing experience, she also has significant background in the methods, education, and scope of practice of the Advanced Practice Nurse. She serves on the Board of Directors of the Kentucky Association of Nurse Practitioners and Nurse Midwives, and as the KANPNM representative on the Kentucky Board of Nursing APRN council.

Stephanie Gastauer, of Maysville, began her teaching career at the elementary level in 2000 and left public education in 2017 after having been in administration at the high school level since 2008. Currently, she is employed in Learning and Development as the Talent Development Leader at STOBER Drives, Inc. She has a Bachelor of Elementary Education from Northern Kentucky University as well as a Master of Education in Educational Administration and Rank 1 Education Specialist from Morehead State University. She holds certificates as Principal, Director of Pupil Personnel, and Supervisor of Instruction.

Bob Hammond, of Russell, is manager of business development for occupational medicine at Kings Daughter's Medical Center in Ashland. He also is a board member of the Ashland Area YMCA, the Kentucky Association for Economic Development, and the Altivia/Veolia Community Advisory Panel. Hammond began his career as a pharmaceutical representative in Hazard, and also served for a period as business liaison at Hazard Community and Technical College. He then became director of business development at the formation of the Ashland Alliance and, later, corporate health and occupational medicine coordinator at Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital.

Mike Mattox, of Wellington, is currently the preparedness coordinator at the Gateway District Health Department in Owingsville. Originally from Nicholas County, he previously taught science at Menifee County High School and Rowan County High School. He began his career in public health as a senior health environmentalist primarily coordinating non-point source water pollution grants through the Division of Water. He moved into public health preparedness after 9/11 and spent two years at the Kentucky Department for Public Health as a regional preparedness coordinator before retiring in 2013. He has since returned part-time to Gateway. He earned his bachelor's in biology and master's in secondary education from Morehead State University.

Tiffany Taul-Scruggs, of Mt. Sterling, is certified by the Kentucky Department for Public Health as a Community Health Worker for Sterling Health Care, serving Montgomery, Bath, Nicholas, and Clark Counties. She helps individuals and families overcome barriers to maintaining stable and healthy lives, and provides resources to assist them. Previously, she worked for Gateway Community Action as the housing coordinator - serving Bath, Montgomery, Menifee, Morgan and Rowan Counties - where she enrolled clients in the Unemployment Bridge Program and Tenant Based Assistance Program.

S. Kurtis Wilson, DMD, has more than 40 years of private dental practice experience and is former owner of Audubon Dental Center PSC. He is also an active member of the American and Green River District Dental Associations and past president of the Henderson Rotary Club, and he has served on the Henderson Community College Dental Hygiene Advisory Board. He also originated Henderson Care Day and has participated in international mission trips to Tanzania and Ecuador. He earned his DMD from the University of Kentucky School of Dentistry.

Members of the Foundation's Community Advisory Council must be residents of the Commonwealth who have expressed an interest and willingness to engage individually and as a group in activities to advance the Foundation’s charitable mission to address the unmet health needs of Kentuckians. The Foundation is intentional in its efforts to continually expand the inclusiveness and diversity of its Council as it engages with communities across the state. Nominations are accepted on an ongoing basis - learn more here.

About the Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky
Funded by an endowment, the mission of the nonpartisan Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky is to address the unmet health needs of Kentuckians by developing and influencing policy, improving access to care, reducing health risks and disparities, and promoting health equity. Since the Foundation opened its doors in 2001, it has invested more than $29 million in health policy research, advocacy, and demonstration project grants across the Commonwealth. Learn more at www.healthy-ky.org.

Media Contacts:
Bonnie J. Hackbarth
877-326-2583 (Office)
502-552-3770 (Mobile)

Alexa Kerley
877-326-2583 (Office)
859-229-9611 (Mobile)